Till startsida
To content Read more about how we use cookies on gu.se

CARe organization

In order to govern the center, CARe has a Steering Committee, which typically meets 6 times per annum and discusses economy, research, outreach, education and strategic matters concerning CARe. The Steering Committee of CARe has 11 members. The steering committee has communication with an international Advisory Board which enables a broader view on relevant issues regarding the center. In addition, CARes organization encompass an educational and outreach group and a management team.



The scope and thematic distribution is arranged to reflect the priority topics identified within the (JPIAMR) strategic research agenda. The intention of JPI-AMR and its strategic research agenda is to streamline and optimize research efforts around antibiotic resistance in Europe (and other member states outside of the EU, including Argentina, Canada, Egypt, India, Israel, Japan, South Africa, South Korea and Turkey [27 member states in total]). Hence, CARe has centered its research on six themes:1) Environment, 2) Diagnostics, 3) Therapeutics, 4) Transmission, 5) Interventions, and 6) Surveillance.

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee has scheduled meetings every 3 month.

Centre Director

Joakim Larsson, theme leader of ’Environment
Department of Infectious Diseases
Sahlgrenska Academy


Erik Kristiansson, theme leader of ’Diagnostics
Department of Mathematical Sciences
The Faculty of Science and 1928 Diagnostics


Christina Åhrèn, theme leader of ’Transmission
Department of Infectious Medicine
Sahlgrenska Academy, Strama and Sahlgrenska University Hospital

Carl-Fredrik Flach, theme leader of ’Surveillance
Department of Infectious Medicine
Sahlgrenska Academy

Rosmarie Friemann, theme leader of ’Therapeutics
Department of Chemistry & Molecular Biology
The Faculty of Science

Christian Munthe, theme leader of ‘Interventions
Department of Philosophy, Linguistics and Theory of Science
The Faculty of Humanities

Anne Farewell, coordinator for ‘Outreach and Education
Department of Chemistry & Molecular Biology
The Faculty of Science, and
Pedagogical Development and Interactive Learning (PIL)

Faculty Representatives

Elina Lampi
Department of Economics
School of Business, Economics and Law

Adam Shehata
Department of Journalism, Media and Communication (JMG)
The Faculty of Social Sciences

Steering Committee Secretary

Kristian Kvint, Center Coordinator
Department of Infectious Diseases
Sahlgrenska Academy

Host Institution Representative

Chatrine Butler
Institute of Biomedicine
Sahlgrenska Academy

Advisory Board

We are honored that some of the most respected and influential international scientists in the field, together with representatives of central stakeholders, have committed themselves to serve on this board. The board members will give advice on proposed scientific directions, help set long term goals and strategies, and make independent assessment of research progress. Importantly, the board will provide access to an expanded global network both for facilitating research and for its implementation into policies.




Peter Ulleryd, Deputy Infection Control Practitioner at VGR, previously at WHO Antimicrobial Drug Resistance Team, Sweden

Ramanan Laxminarayan, Director of the center for Disease Dynamics, Economics & Policy, USA

Gerry Wright, McMaster University, Canada

Jason Snape, Newcastle University and AstraZeneca, UK

Michael Selgelid, Monash University, Australia

Johan Struwe, Public Health Agency of Sweden, previously at WHO Antimicrobial Drug Resistance Team, Sweden

Amy Pruden, Virginia Tech University, USA

Page Manager: Kristian Kvint|Last update: 10/26/2018

The University of Gothenburg uses cookies to provide you with the best possible user experience. By continuing on this website, you approve of our use of cookies.  What are cookies?